Malia Jones Debut Swim Collection

ht_Malia_Jones_-88-Edit-Edit
Photo credit: Heidi Tappis

Surfer girl Malia Jones has graced the covers of more than a dozen magazines and also earned been named to the lists for People Magazine‘s “Most Beautiful” and Esquire‘s “Sexiest Athletes.” Now this surfer-turned-model has created a gorgeous new high-end swimsuit line that features modern lines and sexy silhouettes. 

Tell us about your swimsuit line. How did it come about?

I live in a swimsuit, but I didn’t have that go-to brand of swimsuits that I always knew I felt great in. I wanted to put together a collection of timeless swim styles that fit great with beautiful fabrics that you feel good in. There are neutral colors and seasonal prints that you can mix and match, but the styles will carry over to the next season so you can always go back and get the suits you love and know that fits you great. The kaftans and tunics in the collection are simple and easy. They are ready to be thrown in a weekend bag and taken to any beach or resort. Everything is very modern, beautiful and understated.

As a model, mother and new designer, do you have much time to get in the water? 

Luckily I live in Hawaii and going to the beach is just part of the lifestyle here. We live near the ocean so I do get to jump in the water every day. My little boy is starting to surf as well so it’s a whole new love for surfing watching him catch waves and being a part of his love for the ocean. 

MJAs a former competitive surfer, what is surfing like for you now?

I’m not sure if I’ll ever surf as much as I used to. When you’re younger with no responsibility and no one to look after, surfing two to three times a day is just what you’re used to. Waking up and wondering what the waves are like and where you’re going to surf today is definitely a luxury you don’t even realize at the time. To be young and so carefree! 

But now I definitely appreciate my time in the water more. I’m usually on a schedule so I enjoy every second while I’m out there. I think I almost enjoy it more now than I did growing up. 

I was never that into contests. I guess surfing has never been a sport to me, but a lifestyle that just becomes a part of who you are. 

What does it mean to you to surf like a girl?

Image 2My hero out in the water was always Rell Sunn. I looked up to her in so many ways as a female surfer. She ripped but she also owned her female energy. She was powerful but graceful. That’s why they call her the Queen. Women add a different energy to the lineup. Having her as a role model taught me to embrace it.

Malia’s designs can be found at select retails shops and online at www.maliajones.com.

Leave a comment