Hanging Out with Peggy Oki

I had the opportunity to hang out with the inspirational Peggy Oki this weekend. Of course, I knew her from her Dogtown days, the only girl on the Z-boys team, and we had the chance to interview her for Surf Like a Girl in 2007. Along the way, I was introduced to her beautiful artwork and I was just waiting for the day I could hang one in my home. Peggy graciously invited me to her house where I found exactly the piece I had been hoping for. “Secret Left” (shown here) is a beautiful watercolor of a perfect wave crashing over the rocks.

While we were there, we talked about all of the great causes that keep Peggy busy. Her newest is saving the critically endangered Maui and Hector dolphins off the coast of New Zealand. Becoming a supporter of the campaign is easy — just download one of the images on Let’s Fact It website, take your picture, and then upload your pic.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pros, Skateboarding

Leave a Reply

