Surf Like a Girl Pro Interview: Stephanie Gilmore

They call her Happy Gilmore for good reason. Sure, it may be because she is always smiling, but more likely it is because Stephanie Gilmore has won two consecutive world titles in 2007 and 2008. And we are quite sure she has her eye on the prize in 2009. Her career started early when she stood up on a boogie board at the age of 10. Soon she caught the surfing bug and by 17 she had won the Wildcard entry into the Roxy Gold Coast Pro. What happened next? Oh yeah, she won. And she kept on winning. Just barely able to drink legally stateside, this Australian beauty is one of the coolest chicks we know. She rocks on a surfboard, impressing us with her innovative surfing style, and we hear she plays a mean guitar. Below, our Surf Like a Pro interview with Stephanie.

Last album downloaded: “Youth Novels” by Lykke Li
Best place I’ve surfed: You can’t beat Snapper Rocks in Australia. It’s my home but it’s also the best!
Last book I read: “Twilight” series! It’s addictive!
Guilty pleasure TV show: “Gossip Girl.” I have a crush on Chuck Bass.
Favorite comfort food: Lots of fruit. My friends call me a fruit bat. I eat blueberries like they’re going out of fashion.
Last splurge: Fender Delux Amplifier to plug my Cole Clark guitars into.
Tips for going green: Ride a bike to work if you live close enough, and try to recycle every time. It’s the little things each individual can easily do that will make the big difference.
Hero: Lisa Andersen! She’s an incredible person in the water and out!
Worst experience in the water: Sunset 2007. I got caught in the impact zone and took along time to get out. It was the heaviest experience I’ve ever had. My only advice in that situation is to stay calm.
I’m most proud of: I guess tangibly, it’s my 2nd title, but as a person it’s being able to live this lifestyle doing what I love day in and day out.
What I do when I’m not surfing: I hang out with my friends, play music and stuff. So long as I’m laughing, I don’t mind what it is.
Pets: Tank, he’s my friend Jodie’s dog. He looks like “Frank the Tank!”
What I do to make the world a better place: I have a compost bin and use it all the time. The worms seem pretty happy about it.
Why I surf: Because it’s all kinds of wonderful…
Words to live by: Life is not a dress rehearsal.

We asked Stephanie what she brings on an everyday surf session.

Darren Handley surfboard (DHD)
Elasto Rip Curl wetsuit
Rip Curl girl bikini
Rip Curl longsleeve rashguard
UV Natural sunscreen
Bobby Brown lipbalm SPF 15+
Smart Water
PB&Js and fresh fruit
My film camera
A hat

To see more of Stephanie, check out her blog or check the Rip Curl site.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pros, Surfing

Leave a Reply

