Surf Like a Girl Pro Interview: Veronica Baker

There is not much Veronica Baker has not done. Whether it’s surfing the world over, rock climbing, heli-skiing, caring for her sons, or shooting the cover of a magazine, Veronica is not the kind of girl who sits back and waits for opportunities to come to her. You may remember her by her maiden name, Veronica Kay, as the fierce blonde competitor on WB’s Boarding House: North Shore or recognize her as one of the hosts of Wild on E!. Veronica hails from Southern California where she picked up surfing when she was just fourteen years old.  Since then she has traveled the world seeking out the best waves as an ambassador and model for Roxy.  She currently resides in Newport Beach with her husband and two sons. Below, our Surf Like a Pro interview with Veronica.

Last album you downloaded: I know I am stuck in dinosaur land but I don’t download music.  The last CD I bought was Metallica’s “Kill ’em All”

Best vacation: I brought my best friend Jillian to Whistler to shoot Wild on E! because I told them she was my stylist/hair and make-up person.  So, it technically wasn’t a vacation but it sure felt like one.  We had the best time!

Last book you read: “Moby Dick” by Herman Melville.

Guilty pleasure TV show: Survivor.

Favorite comfort food: Grilled cheese and tomato soup.

Champagne or beer (or other): Beer.

Last splurge: A pair of leopard print peep-toe pumps.

Advice for beginners: Relish falling–learn to love it and know that every time you do, you are one step closer to getting that much better.  Also, laugh, play, don’t take yourself so seriously…”the best surfer is the happy surfer.”

Hero: Lisa Andersen.

Worst experience in the water: Got sucked over the falls and landed on my fin.  It broke off in my leg, and I had to get 20 stitches.

I’m most proud of: Being a mom.

Favorite rainy day activity: Finding puddles to jump in with my son and then coming inside and drinking hot chocolate.

Pet peeve: Cold butter.

How she met her husband:  A mutual friend set us up on a blind date; I made her come to lunch with us.

Tip for going green?: Eat organic.

Why I surf: Because it makes me feel good –simple but true.

Words to live by:  Smile as much as you can.

We also asked Veronica what she brings for an everyday surf session.

6’1” Al Merrick or her  9’6” Donald Takayama

Long Arm Spring Suit

Roxy bikini

Shiseido sunscreen

Surf Wax

Water

Chocolate Brownie Cliff Bars

Sweat pants and sweat shirt

To see more of Veronica, check her out on Roxy.com or on YouTube

Leave a comment

Filed under Pros, Surfing

Leave a Reply

