Surf Like a Girl Pro Interview: Layne Beachley

We love Layne, and who wouldn’t? Not only did she win six consecutive World Titles, but she has surfed the biggest wave ever ridden by a female. At 50 feet, having a wave as big as a four-story building moving towards you is no small accomplishment. But more than just one of the greatest female surfers, Layne has given back to women through her foundation, Aim For the Stars, which promotes the academic, sporting and community dreams of young women. Now with her new line of fashion for girls who want to feel beachy whether or not they live near the water, Beachley looks set to take on the world. Below, our Surf Like a Pro interview with Layne.

Last song you downloaded: “Bring Me to Life” by Evanescence

Best vacation: Surf trip on a boat in the Mentawai Islands. Great surf, no phones, total freedom.

Last book you read: E.T.101: The Cosmic Instruction Manual: An Emergency Remedial Edition by Diana Luppi and Zoev Jho

Guilty pleasure TV show: Family Guy

Favorite comfort food: Chocolate

Champagne or beer (or other): Neither. Red wine or Vodka, thanks!

Last splurge: A mountain bike for my boyfriend for his birthday and a leather jacket while shopping in Spain.

Advice for beginners: Set very clear goals and never give up because it isn’t as easy as it looks. Practice makes perfect.

Hero: Anyone that puts themselves on the line to achieve greatness. Michael Schumacher, Lance Armstrong, Kelly Slater, Muhammad Ali.

Worst experience in the water: I have experienced a few serious injuries at places like Sunset, Teahupoo and Tavarua. That’s never any fun.

I’m most proud of: Remaining to true to myself, my morals and principles.

Favorite rainy day activity: Laying in bed with my boyfriend watching DVD’s.

Pet peeve: Untidiness.

The perfect date: Is there such a thing?

Who I’d cast to play me in the movie of my life: Cameron Diaz. She always looks like she is having fun and she is very outgoing.

Nail polish color: Baby Pink usually. It goes with everything and looks good on my tanned feet.

Bathing suit or commando under your wetsuit: Depends on the situation. Both work for me!

Why I surf: Because I love it! It gives me a sense of freedom and enhances my happiness. It rinses my soul and reconnects me with Mother Nature.

Words to live by:  Find a purpose in life and remain true to what you want and what you believe in. Love what you do and embrace challenges!

We also asked Layne what she brings on an everyday surf session.

Darcy Surfboard,  5’10″x 17.75 x 2

Oakley wetsuit

Layne Beachley-designed bikini

Megan Gale Invisible Zinc SPF 30+

L’Occitane lip balm

Sticky Bumps surf wax and wax comb

Bottled water and Endura powder for rapid re-hydration and recovery

Rubbing alcohol after every surf to clear the water out of my ears

Nivea deodorant (until they stole it off me on my last flight to LA. Ridiculous!)

FCS fin key

Musashi Creatine Bar before a surf and a Musashi Growling Dog Bar after; I also love Keto Bars during events

A dry bikini and either a sarong or boardies and a singlet

Leave a comment

Filed under Pros, Surfing

Leave a Reply

